Spotify Expands Into 80 New Countries across Asia, Africa, Caribbean, Latin America

Spotify recently announced that it will expand significantly to more than 80 new markets across Asia, Africa, the Caribbean, Latin America and Europe over the next few days.

Before this latest expansion, majority of African users only got access to the streaming service via VPN, except for users in Algeria, Egypt, South Africa, Morocco and Tunisia.

New markets Spotify will be exploring include: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Capo Verde, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Estwani, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea and Guinea Bissau. The rest are Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Nigeria and Rwanda. Others include Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

This development makes Spotify now available in 36 new languages, including Romanian, Hindi and Swahili, thereby bringing the total number of supported languages to 60.

Spotify’s insatiable quest for expansion has earned the company over 345 million listeners and 155 million paying subscribers as of the end of last year.

According to Spotify’s CEO Daniel Ek, at the moment the streaming giant is currently available across about half of the world, but there are still millions of creators and billions of listeners who don’t yet have access to Spotify.

Spotify also announced its plans to roll out a new high-end subscription service, called Spotify HiFi (CD-quality, lossless audio format), along with other new features and updates, including new content deals, and features for creators.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: