Apple Music DJ Cuppy

Apple Music Teams Up With DJ Cuppy to Showcase ‘Latest African Sounds’

Apple Music today announced its new show Africa Now Radio with Cuppy. The show, as the name suggests, will be hosted by Nigerian-born DJ and curator Cuppy.

Africa Now Radio with Cuppy follows the recently launched Africa Now playlist and, according to the streaming platform, will showcase “the latest African sounds, be it amapiano, afrobeats, highlife, alte, house, hip-hop, afrobongo, or kuduro.”

“With a DJ background, I’m excited not only to play music but showcase the vast array of talented artists cultivating the music scene on the continent,” said Cuppy in a press release. “There are so many rich textures and sounds in Africa and the time is now for the world to embrace our diversity. Each and every week, I’ll be bringing a dynamic guide to discovering and celebrating the biggest and best sounds from across Africa, the Motherland. It will be entertainment at its best, Cuppy style!”

On the debut episode, popular Nigerian producer, artist and DJ Kiddominant joined Cuppy as the show’s first guest via FaceTime. He discussed his upcoming single “eWallet” featuring South African superstar rapper Cassper Nyovest and taken from his forthcoming debut album due for release in the second half of 2020. South African actress and Queen Sono lead character Pearl Thusi also shared her favorite African proverb and current favorite African song.

In the show, Cuppy plays the best and hottest African music throughout the show and finishes off with a personalized 10-minute DJ mix of tracks from the Africa Now playlist

Africa Now Radio with Cuppy airs weekly on Sundays.  
Time: 
6am LA  
9am NY  
1pm Abidjan  
2pm Lagos/London  
3pm Johannesburg/Paris  
4pm Nairobi  
Only on Apple Music at  apple.co/_AfricaNow
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: